The Architectural Beauty of Antoni Gaudi

Sagrada Familia Roof Detail

Sagrada Familia Roof Detail

Wow, right? That is what I thought when I came across this picture. And how did it happen that I stumbled across this absolutely incredible display of architecture? Easy: I’m a podcast whore.

I’m addicted to podcasts like nothing else. For most of my commute and most of my day at work I have various podcasts playing in the background, I can even give you an outline what I’m going to listen to depending on what day of the week it is. Due to the holidays and how Christmas and New Year’s fell this year, I had a backlog of episodes that I did not get to listen to at the regular time and have been systematically working through them the past few weeks. As I’ve been going through this backlog, I have especially enjoyed several episodes of “Stuff You Missed in History”, a podcast by HowStuffWorks.com.  They did a two-part podcast on the life of Antoni Gaudi (1852-1926), a Spanish Catalan architect.

Antoni Gaudi 1852-1926

Antoni Gaudi 1852-1926

I’m not going to summarize the biography here, if you want to know more, download the podcasts and have a listen, those ladies do a really good job!  I was struck, however, by how much they emphasized the difficulty of properly conveying the impact and genius of Gaudi’s visual art in an auditory format.  They referenced that the enormity of his work left some of the most seasoned travel guides speechless and without an adequate description.  So I decided I needed to see pictures, and they truly are remarkable!  Words are inadequate, so I will let the photos convey the rest…

Episcopal Palace

Episcopal Palace, Reus

 Casa de los Botines, in León

Casa de los Botines, in León

Bodegues Güell

Bodegues Güell

Park Guell

Park Guell

 Casa Batlló

Casa Batlló

Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família

Temple Expiatori de la Sagrada Família

2 thoughts on “The Architectural Beauty of Antoni Gaudi

Leave a Reply

