The First Day of the Rest of My Life

I don’t know how I am just sitting here.  Every bit of me is jumping, tingling, anticipating.  My heart is beating so hard, I’m sure everyone around me can hear it too.

The time is almost here.  I have presented myself and my qualifications and I will soon know if I am good enough.  

I have worked my whole life for this moment, and I honestly don’t know what I will do if I’m not chosen.

I try to regulate my breathing, gaining back some measure of control and decorum.  I need to just keep thinking positive and not worry about the what ifs.  There will be plenty of time for that if the decision doesn’t go the way I am hoping.  No, best to visualize myself as winning the vote and act as if it is already decided. 

 As I focus on sending positive energy towards the deliberating council, I look around at all the pool on the Chamber steps.  Groups of children on field trips, families eating lunch in the park before returning to work, a few other hopefuls in the exact same position I am, waiting.  A flurry of life bustling around me as I wait  for the decision that will change my future.

 The clock tower bell announces it is now one o’clock.  At almost the exact same moment, a higher pitched bell sounds, indicated that the council has made their decisions and announcements will be made.  I stand up straight and start walking up the steps.  That bell has just marked the first moment of my brand new life. 

 In response to Picture Prompt #6.

2 thoughts on “The First Day of the Rest of My Life

Leave a Reply

