Flip Flop

When you are raised in a religion that you were never convinced of, it can be extremely hard to separate what you believe, versus what you have been told you believe.  I remember as a child, it was drilled into me that I was to get baptized at the age of eight, because thT is when God said I was old enough to make my own choice.  The entire year leading up to my baptism, I expressed my doubts to my mother and various church members.  Their response was, I was too young to know what I’m talking about, and they will make sure I have done what is needed.

Ummm… What happened to my free will that I keep hearing you people spout about?  I don’t need your permission but I would appreciate you’re approval, especially since I have been told that my opinion counts. 

I did not expect to get dunked under water whether I liked it or not.  That showed me the truth of the matter. Free will is only a pretend thing. Whichever adult gets to make the decision, will tell me I’m wrong, and then once she has destroyed my life, tell me where I can sleep it off….

She needs to go

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Flip Flop.”topic or issue about which you’ve switched your opinion. Why the change?

Leave a Reply

