Made Over While Coming Undone

In response to Made Over or Come Undone?.

When it comes to fashion, I am a paradox.  

I love fashion.  I love watching runway shows, flipping through magazines to see the latest trends, spending hours on Pinterest surfing through makeup tips and tricks, the must have clothing items and creative hairdos. I have seen every episode of every season of Project Runway, Project Runway All Stars, and America’s Next Top Model, many of which I have viewed multiple times.  I know what my body type is, what looks good on me and what trends I need to avoid.  I got it.

I hate dressing up.  If I had it my way, I’d be wearing shorts, a tank top and a pair of sandals every single day.  As far as my hair goes, I choose the scrunch curls  that I so easily get just by mousing my hair while damp and allowing to air dry.  My makeup usually consists of a bit of foundation and using a warm, deep blush as a bronzer for some color and a dab of lip gloss.  If it’s really important, I’ll reluctantly fish out the eyeshadow.

I have no idea what my problem is. I mean, I got a couple of theories.  The main one is that most of the time I am so stressed and worrying while working, that when it comes time for fun, I just want to relax.  I don’t want to worry if my makeup everyday is smudged or if my dress looks just so. Plus, high heels and my ankles just do not get along.  When I need a height advantage I normally spring for a wedge.  It’s the safest by far.  And, where am I going to go all dressed up? I live in a small coastal town where formal dress is a very rare occasion.  If I dressed up, people would look at me like I have two heads.

I really am weird.  I’ll mention having to go home to watch Proje t Runway and receive comments that I’m not the Project Runway type. Oh, but I am darling. Just don’t judge a book by its cover…

2 thoughts on “Made Over While Coming Undone

Leave a Reply

