Don’t Mess with Body Flow

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream.”

I have two hours in the week that I cherish with my entire soul.  I look forward to them with anticipation, and if anything interferes with them, I get down right sulky.  Those two hours are the two times a week I do Body Flow at the gym. Don’t get me wrong, I sometimes have to fight to force myself to do some cardio prior to Body Flow, but I can usually talk myself into it simply because I know I’ll be able to sink further into the poses with a warmed body.

For anyone unfamiliar, Body Flow is a mixture of tai chi, yoga and Pilates; part of the Les Mills workout program.  I believe it has a different name outside of the United States due to some sort of copyright issue in the U.S.  It is an hour of breathing, stretching, relaxing, lengthening, challenging your muscles to get stronger, and maintaining your balance to avoid falling and breaking your nose.  And at the very end, to reward yourself for not falling flat on your face (or as comfort for having a bad balance day), is ten minutes of silent relaxation.  Lights are turned off, you are encouraged to settle on your mat in a position most comfortable to you, and you spend the next ten minutes breathing to the beat of the melody, sending any residual stress out of your body and meditating. It is the best time I have all week.

I admit, once or twice I have almost fallen asleep, jerking myself up because I’m convinced everyone else must be packing up to leave and I’m just laying on the floor drooling.  Thankfully that has never actually been the case, just my paranoid imagination.

Most of the time, though, it is my decompression, where I can forget the stresses of the day, let thoughts and concerns flit and pass out of my mind, and let whatever images my mind wants to create have at it.  

Leave a Reply

