Be Still, My Heart

In response to Quotes #5: Known and Unknown.

  

 
“Peace: It does not mean to be in a  place where there is no noise, trouble or hard work. It means to be in the midst of those things and still be calm in your heart.” ~unknown 

I often wonder how to describe what I want to achieve in my day to day life, and this quote hits it on the head. 

The thing that I desire more than anything is to be able to go through all of the chaos, the clamor, the unexpected emergencies — not to mention the expected pains in the ass — with a calmness in my own soul.  I want to be able to handle and deal with all of the crazy outside bullshit, firm in the knowledge that it cannot change me.  

I am nowhere close to being at this level.  I tend to take everything that comes at me as my personal responsibility, and will beat myself up if I cannot fix or help, regardless of whether it was ever in my power.  I take things to heart and allow them to guide my emotions.    

To be completely honest, I’m really not sure if this kind of peace is truly possible, or if it’s some unreachable ideal that will always be dangling just out of reach.  But, oh, how I would love to be able to attain that level of peace! I imagine it would feel much the same as being able to successfully meditate in Times Square in New York (I am not sure why you’d want to, but it’s my visualization anyway). Having all of these external forces swarming around you, being able to interact or avoid them, but not allowing them to touch your inner psyche.  The only things that can penetrate that barrier into your soul are those things that you conciously  decide can inhabit within you.

Possible or not, I will reach for this peace.

One thought on “Be Still, My Heart

Leave a Reply

