Making Wishes Come True

Night // Le Bourdelas by Bruno Leveque CC BY-SA 2.0

Twinkle,twinkle up on high

I’ve always dreamt to reach the sky

Pluck my wishes back down to earth

Watch my prayers and hopes give birth

To happiness in all they reach

Give comfort to all whose speech

Is burdened by suffering and pain

Who suffer from doubt and fear of disdain

Yet when I look up to face the stars

My own self-doubt creeps in and wars

With that nobler Me, who who tries with all Her might

But gets pushed down and away by inadequacy and fright

How to find the strength to reach for what could be

For the first soul I need to be healed is me.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Lucky Star.”

Leave a Reply

