Hike 5k to Write 5k

So this coming week is the Worldwide WordPress 5k 2015 Challenge (#WWWP5k2015).  I’ve been toying with the idea of getting worked up to doing a few 5k runs per year (by which I mean I need to actually run, not just walk…)

So far I’ve put it off (shocker, I know), but reading about this gave me an idea for a writing challenge I saw a different version of somewhere(I tried to find where i had seen it again, but I can’t figure out where I saw it…).

So my take on blending the two activities is: Hike 5k to Write 5k.  It includes exercise, photography and writing.  It would work like this:

Pick a place, map my route, do the 5k as a hike (I originally thought it should be a walk/jog, but after doing it, there is so much stopping to take pictures, its more of a hike than anything else), and bring my camera. While on my route, find at least seven to ten images to post with stories attached in the next week, be it fiction of nonfiction.  The total word count of the stories should total at least 5,000 words.  (Note: Going a little over is fine, just can’t be under)  So, I get off my butt, get some exercise in, and find some inspiration.  Win, win for everyone, right?

Well, the easy part is done!  I hiked the 5k today in Beaufort.   Here’s my mapped route:

Screen Shot 2015-10-25 at 7.56.42 PM

And here are the images I’ve selected to use (As I publish the posts, I’ll edit the images to become links):

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Source: Join Automattic’s Worldwide WP 5k 2015

6 thoughts on “Hike 5k to Write 5k

    1. Thanks! To be honest, I’m not sure how I’m gonna write the ice house story, but when I downloaded the camera, that was my favorite pic of the day, so I’ll figure out something!

      Like

Leave a Reply

