Tues Truthiness: Grateful

I’ve learned a lot about myself and how much I am truly capable of handling this year.  It hasn’t been easy; nothing has been handed on a silver platter, but how would that be any fun?

I decided to scroll backwards in time to my list of goals for 2015 to see how well I’ve come so far in what I want to accomplish for the year and think about what I’ve learned from my goals.  Turns out these goals have been pretty beneficial to my overall outlook of life.

 I have completed two craft projects this year.  But, I took the time to hone the skills needed to complete those projects really well.  Next project, I take on the art of crochet!  Ask me next November how that’s going.  I am grateful that I now understand how therapeutic these projects are for me.

The same goes with cooking.  In my ongoing effort to improve my physical well being, I have focused much more on healthy, home cooked meals.  The satisfaction I get when I hit a home run with a healthy meal that my husband loves (and believe me, I know right away) is priceless. For being someone who used to take whatever path did not involve chopping vegetables or trimming meat, I’m glad I have found the joy of cooking (I know, I know, but I couldn’t resist!)

I am grateful for this blog, and all of the beautiful people I have met through it. I’m very happy I kept up with it this time.  My goal at the beginning of this year was at least one post a week, about whatever.  I’ve posted 161 blogs and have 96 drafts that need to be completed. Next year’s goals will include publishing those drafts, I believe.  I also want to give my blog a little more definition and structure, now that my voice is coming through. Which reminds me, I am grateful my voice is coming through.

I am grateful for my health, and my husband’s recovering health.  It has been eight months and seven days since I have smoked a cigarette.  It has been seven weeks since I brought him home from the hospital post surgery.  Blessings to our doctors, nurses and surgeons.

I am grateful for my friends and family.  The support I got this year was humbling to say least.  I can’t even write about it without getting misty-eyed, but I am truly blessed to have some of the people I do in my life.

I have a lot to be grateful for. And right now I am especially grateful to Tues Truthiness: Grateful, for causing me to reflect and realize just how good I really had it this year.

3 thoughts on “Tues Truthiness: Grateful

  1. Awww, shucks! You have had a great year. Keep it up!
    I think of cooking as another creative outlet, which sometimes is a happy discovery and other times I am thankful I am not cooking for anyone but me. Not sure all my efforts in the kitchen turn out as intended 😉
    (Want to add to your really long list of drafts? How about checking out April’s prompt for you on last Fri’s TBP post? wink-wink-nudge-nudge…)

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

